Murphy Leads 52-Member Letter to President Biden Urging Him Not to Re-Enter Iran Nuclear Deal

February 3, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – On Wednesday, February 3, 2021, Congressman Greg Murphy, M.D. (NC-03) led 51 other House Republicans in sending a letter to President Joe Biden urging him not to re-enter the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), commonly known as the Iran Nuclear Deal. Originally adopted during the Obama Administration in 2015, President Trump withdrew the United States from the JCPOA in 2018. During his presidential campaign, Biden indicated he would rejoin the agreement.

Murphy released the following statement:

“Not only was the Iran Nuclear Deal a failure to begin with, the facts on the ground have dramatically changed since it was signed and subsequently pulled out of by the Trump Administration,” said Murphy. “The max-pressure campaign used by President Trump has worked. Iran’s economy is crippled, their people are protesting more boldly than they have in 50 years, their top general has been taken out, and the power balance has shifted in the Middle East as more and more countries have begun normalizing ties with Israel. These are all major developments for the better for ours and Israel’s national security.

“If President Biden decides to make any new agreement with Iran, then it must be contingent on Iran ending their explicit state sponsorship of terrorism. The United States cannot under any circumstances indirectly fund the killing of American soldiers and innocent people as we did under the JCPOA.

“I thank my many colleagues who joined me in this effort. Together, we will fight tooth and nail against appeasing the terrorist Iranian regime.”

The following members joined in signing the letter:

Republican Study Committee Chairman Jim Banks (IN-03), Brian Babin (TX-36), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Jody Hice (GA-10), Chip Roy (TX-21), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Ted Budd (NC-13), Michelle Steel (CA-48), Jack Bergman (MI-01), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Scott Franklin (FL-15), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Doug Lamalfa (CA-01), Barry Moore (AL-02), John Rutherford (FL-04), Bob Good (VA-05), Ken Calvert (CA-42), Chris Stewart (UT-02), Maria Salazar (FL- 27), Ben Cline (VA-06), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Dan Bishop (NC-09), Mike Garcia (CA-25), Andy Harris (MD-01), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Kelly Armstrong (ND-AL), Richard Hudson (NC-08), Russ Fulcher (ID-01), Jim Hagedorn (MN-01), David McKinley (WV-01), Fred Keller (PA-12), Devin Nunes (CA-22), Kevin Hern (OK-01), Adrian Smith (NE-03), Michael Guest (MS-03), Randy Weber (TX-14), Ron Estes (KS-04), Jim Baird (IN-04), Daniel Meuser (PA-09), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Greg Steube (FL-17), Yvette Herrell (NM-02), Lance Gooden (TX-05), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Lisa McClain (MI-10), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Billy Long (MO-07), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), and David Rouzer (NC-07).

A copy of the letter can be found here.